Thursday, 19 June 2014

Review ~ The Summer Guest by Emma Hannigan.

Title: The Summer Guest.
Author: Emma Hannigan.
Publisher: Headline.
Genre: Women's Fiction.
Year: 2014.
Source: Review copy.
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase: Amazon UK

Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, a lovely, warm, Irish family saga of three generations of women coming together one magical summer in the small seaside town of Caracove Bay.

Lexi and her husband Sam have put their heart and soul into renovating No. 3 Cashel Square. Lexi's mother thinks it's high time they had a baby, but Lexi's thriving art gallery keeps her more than busy. Plus her headstrong niece Amelie seems to have practically moved in. And then, just as summer arrives, a mysterious stranger knocks on the door. Kathleen Williams has come from America, longing to see the house in Cashel Square where she was born, over sixty years ago. Kathleen's visit is tinged with sadness but she finds comfort and laughter with Lexie and Amelie. Soon the three women are sharing their hearts, tears and secrets, little knowing their unexpected friendship will touch them all in more ways than they can imagine...







The Summer Guest has a stunning cover and the writing is just as beautiful and warm to match. Although The Summer Guest touched on some serious issues, this was on the whole, a light easy read. So maybe not the perfect choice if you’re after drama but for a gorgeous, feel good read which gently covers the realities of growing up, I couldn’t think of a much better choice.

It was the people in this book that made it for me. I loved how everyone we met was kind and friendly – from the main characters to simply the taxi drivers. It really gave this book a positive, uplifting vibe which was a joy to read.

Kathleen was probably my favourite character and I loved her spirit and how she always had a great lease of life, despite some upsetting stages in her life. She teaches you to value and appreciate everybody in your life without being pushy and forcing her views onto others. Amelie was another character I loved – her relationship with Lexie and seeing her character develop were two highlights of this book for me.

Friendship was the biggest theme in The Summer Guest and I thought this was written in a stunning fashion. I loved seeing Kathleen and how she could befriend anyone! Watching the friendships grow made for a beautiful story and the direction Emma takes this novel in is faultless.




Review also posted on Goodreads | Amazon UK | Lovereading

2 comments:

  1. Bài viết rất hay: Chúng tôi chuyên cung cấp các sản phẩm chất lượng sau:



    Lều xông hơi gia đình giá rẻ



    Lều xông hơi giá bao nhiêu



    Lều xông hơi loại nào tốt nhất hiện nay



    Cảm ơn các bạn!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Bài viết rất hay: Chúng tôi chuyên cung cấp các sản phẩm chất lượng sau:



    Tác dụng thần kì của bồn ngâm chân



    Máy ngâm chân thải độc



    Chậu ngâm chân giá rẻ



    Cảm ơn các bạn!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...