Tuesday, 3 February 2015

Review ~ Maggie Does Meribel by Nicola Doherty.

Title: Maggie Does Meribel (Girls on Tour #3).
Author: Nicola Doherty.
Publisher: Headline.
Genre: Romantic Comedy.
Publication Date: December 4, 2014.
Source: Bought/Netgalley.
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Purchase: Amazon UK

The third instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's I Heart... novels.

Maggie can't wait for her first ever skiing holiday. New Year's Eve in the French Alps with her boyfriend Leo and two other couples: what could be more romantic? She's picturing hot chocolate, romantic snowball fights and evenings snuggled together in front of the log fire. What she didn't picture is near-death experiences on the mountains, falling out with Leo and sharing a chalet with the unbearable Jenny. When she meets Sylvain, a gorgeous ski instructor, the line between harmless flirting and full-on misbehaviour becomes ... well, blurry. Will Maggie stay on the nursery slopes, or go seriously off-piste?

Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl's adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible...





Maggie Does Meribel is book three in the Girls on Tour series and yet another fun read. Maggie and her boyfriend Leo are heading off to the French Alps for a skiing holiday over the New Year and far from being the easy-going, romantic holiday Maggie is hoping for, doubts over their relationship are brought up. Leo, eager to please the other people on their holiday, is reluctant to spend any time alone with Maggie which has her questioning their relationship, given that all the other couples on the holiday look so loved up.

I loved the skiing aspect to this novel. Firstly because it really brought across the setting of the book and the author does a wonderful job every time of making you want to travel right into the novel and explore the area for yourself. She always brings the location to life. Another reason I loved the skiing holiday is because of the dreamy ski instructor Sylvain – who could *almost* tempt me to ski myself with his help. Almost. The main reason I adored the skiing was because Maggie was just so bad at it at times, it was very funny watching her try and feeling every single bump with her. Maggie was so hopelessly optimistic in every aspect of her life that she kept getting back up and trying again and I loved her character. Every moment in this book was entertaining but the skiing topped it for me.

Maggie Does Meribel brings us another great set of characters and having read all of Nicola’s books, I love hearing a familiar name and seeing a familiar character from some of her other books, not just books in the Girls on Tour series but all her books in general. I adore this, probably because I’ve enjoyed every one of her books and the characters are always so memorable, whether you like them or not… Jenny was the character I loved to hate in Maggie Does Meribel, with her stuck up attitude and the way she tried to stir things and get in with any guy she could. She was such a bitch, I really wanted to see her get taken down a peg or two. She had one of those faces you’d just love to slap, provided you weren’t as laid back as Maggie was in standing up for herself.

What I have loved the most about the Girls on Tour series so far, and most notably in Maggie Does Meribel, is that the author explores the less conventional, less written about side to romance, where it’s not simply about each character falling in love and coming out with the perfect relationship and complete contentment. Instead, each book confronts things women are less likely to talk about and that brings us flawed characters who are much easier to connect with, and a story delivered with zest and humour and lots of fun. As well as the romance, Maggie Does Meribel is about making mistakes and learning from them, trying new things, making friends and discovering happiness in different areas of your life – another fab book by Nicola Doherty.




Review also posted on Goodreads | Amazon UK

4 comments:

  1. These sound great. Think I would be bad at skiing too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You'd love them I think Tanya.

      Delete
  2. I'm sure I would as your review is great.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...